Take the 2-minute tour ×
Physics Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for active researchers, academics and students of physics. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If a particle with mass $m$ collides with a wall at right angles, and the collision is perfectly elastic. The particle hits the wall at $v\ ms^{-1}$. There is no friction or gravity. So the particle will rebound at $-v\ ms^{-1}$?

image description

What will the change in momentum be?

I did:

$$initial\ momentum = final\ momentum$$ $$mv = m(-v)$$ $$mv = -mv$$

But this doesn't seem right because it's like saying $1=-1$?

share|improve this question
    
Both the total energy and total momentum are conserved. Hint: Treat the wall as a second very massive body in a 1D elastic two-body collision. –  Qmechanic Jan 11 '13 at 13:24
    
On top of all these good answers, remember that momentum is a vector, not a scalar quantity. So change in momentum is also a vector. –  Mike Dunlavey Jan 11 '13 at 14:00
    
@qmechanic, but the wall has no momentum, because no matter what mass it is, it's velocity is 0? –  Jonathan. Jan 11 '13 at 15:12
    
@Jonathan.: It's not right to say that the the wall has no momentum after the collision (within the two-body idealization). Letting the mass ratio $M/m \to \infty$ go to infinity, the infinitely heavy wall (after the collision) will indeed have zero velocity (in the limit) but nevertheless carry the missing momentum $2mv$. –  Qmechanic Jan 11 '13 at 15:24
    
@Qmechanic, I dont understand, momentum is $mv$, and $v = 0$, and anything times 0 is 0? –  Jonathan. Jan 11 '13 at 23:37

3 Answers 3

The initial and final momentum are not the same because the ball is not an isolated system. The wall exerts a force on it. In principle the ball and the wall (and the planet it's connected to!) form an isolated system with a conserved momentum, but you'd have to take into account how much the wall moves after the collision.

The change of momentum is final momentum - initial momentum, and you have the correct values for the initial and final momentum.

share|improve this answer
    
So the change in momentum is $-2mv$. I have the answer as positive $2mv$, is it possible to just use the magnitude? I would have thought that that implied to went into the wall? –  Jonathan. Jan 11 '13 at 10:54
1  
I wouldn't attach too much significance to the sign of the change. If your sign convention is that velocity towards the wall is positive, then momentum before is $+mv$ and after it's $-mv$, so the momentum has decreased by $2mv$. I would interpret this as meaning that the change is $-2mv$. –  John Rennie Jan 11 '13 at 11:04

In presence of a force the momentum is not conserved, and the wall is a potential repulsive force. Instead, the momentum changes from a positive to a negative value, so the difference is positive.

share|improve this answer

Your equation: $\text {initial momentum = final momentum}$, applies only to the total momentum. It does not apply to individual masses separately.

Here the initial momentum of the mass $m = \text {initial total momentum} = mv$ (since the wall is not moving)

The final total momentum is the sum of the momenta of the wall and the momentum of the mass $m$

The final total momentum is thus the initial total momentum = $mv = -mv + x$

Change in the momentum of $m = -mv-mv =-2mv$.

Change in the momentum of the wall $= + 2mv$.

Total change in the momentum of the system $= (-2mv + 2mv) = 0$ (by law of conservation of momentum). You may add the units to the quantities.

Comment: The diagram shows the velocity after collision as $-v \:\mathrm{ms^{-1}}$ with an arrow pointing to the left. That would be incorrect. $-mv$ with arrow pointing to the right or $mv$ with arrow pointing to the left would be correct.

share|improve this answer
    
Hi user. Welcome to Physics.SE. Here, we use an unique TeX markup called MathJax, same as Math.SE. The markup is very much helpful in understanding equations, etc. Please have a look here for an introductory, or atleast have a look at our FAQ for an overview. For now, Manish has revised your post :-) –  Waffle's Crazy Peanut Jan 16 '13 at 12:08

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.