Physics Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for active researchers, academics and students of physics. It's 100% free.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In tonight's session of a science fiction role-playing game, I used a white phosphorous grenade against a group of ammonia-breathing aliens on their home turf, and I must confess that neither the GM nor I thought to think about whether the stuff is actually effective in that kind of atmosphere.

I've heard it does burn in water. So, does it actually burn in ammonia?

share|cite|improve this question

migrated from Sep 25 '11 at 4:20

This question came from our site for science fiction and fantasy enthusiasts.

closed as off topic by David Z Sep 25 '11 at 6:56

Questions on Physics Stack Exchange are expected to relate to physics within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

Probably belongs more on the eventual Chemistry.SE but that isn't yet an option. – DampeS8N Sep 25 '11 at 4:23
That's right; this is a pure chemistry question and is therefore off topic here. – David Z Sep 25 '11 at 6:56
@David Zaslavsky: We should try to remember to migrate this when the Chemistry site enters beta. I'm glad to see it did get an answer, though. Never would have on SFF. – DampeS8N Sep 25 '11 at 12:54
@DampeS8N - I had this answer 2/3 typed on SFF before it was migrated here, so it would have had an answer there. (Not sure that one could have predicted this, but I'm also not sure one could predict that it would get an answer on physics.) – Rex Kerr Sep 25 '11 at 13:20
up vote 3 down vote accepted

White phosphorus requires oxygen to burn. With oxygen, it will form an intermediate that can also react with water (to produce phosphoric acid). Ammonia also does not react with white phosphorus; in fact, it is used as a solvent for phosphorus-metal chemistry.

share|cite|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.